On Healthcare, redistribution of wealth, and the Cloward-Piven strategy.

I am awaiting to see if a judge will award me disability.  This pisses me off in two ways, one, I am really disabled, can’t work, can’t function a lot of the time and I am almost always sick.  Second, it’s my fuckin’ money they are thinking about letting me have.  See, I started working when I was twelve, back in 1978, hauling hay and mowing yards.  My dad made me file and pay taxes.  Now, over the next thirty one years, I paid almost $375,000 dollars into Medicaid, Social Security, and FICA.  After I paid my first  set of taxes, my dad made me set down and figure out how much money I could make if I had invested my tax money for Social Security or Medicaid into the market.  With assumptions for economic downturns and upswings, my theoretical investments came out to about $1.3 million dollars.  This pisses me off, because just using a middle school knowledge of mathematics and accounting, I could have been a millionaire by now if I had been allowed to put those monies into a private account.  But the good hearted US gummint, didn’t want me to do that.  Why, because Social Security has been the country’s private Pay Day loan center for the past 27 years.  Congress has borrowed from it when there was a deficit and now my money (and yours too), is gone and has been replaced by a fairly worthless IOU.  Well, you might say, that is all the US dollar  is, is a government IOU.  Well, the dollar is a private note that has the full force of the US government behind it, and unless our country goes tits up, it will be worth something, even if it is just a fraction of what it is supposed to be worth.  Meanwhile the IOU’s that congress has left in the Social Security fund, aren’t backed up by anything.  Meaning, congress can renege on those debts anytime they want and there is no legal recourse that can be taken.

Now, on healthcare,  I like the idea of universal healthcare, but there is still the problem of how is it going to be paid for?  See, the money you and I paid into Social Security and Medicaid is gone, so we can’t begin drawing out on our money that was there.  Social Security and medicaid is now a charity or a better description, it is a ponzi scheme.  Those kind of plans only work well, when there are many people contributing to them and few people taking from them.  See, this is why redistribution of wealth won’t work in the long run.  More have to produce and contribute to the whole and fewer have to take from it.  In capitalism, most people strive to earn more so they can have a better life.  When you get scenario where fewer and fewer produce and more and more consume without adding to the whole, you get a point where the productive people don’t have any incentives to produce.  This continues until you have a society of takers and no producers, and thus are presented with a malthusia solution, i.e., cannibalism.

Redistribution of wealth is at the heart of the Cloward-Piven strategy and it has the same fundamental flaws.  A guaranteed national income, whether or not you produce any goods or services of value, and thus no incentive to strive to better yourself or your situation.  This is what I hate about being disabled.  Due to almost constant nausea, brought on by systemic neuropathy, lack of mobility due to chronic pain in my legs and feet, and retinopathy, I can’t read as well as I used, can’t get out and do much of anything, and have almost nothing to look forward.  The stagnation of my existence is a bane to how I have lived and thought for most of my life.  Right now, if it weren’t for my mother helping me out and my doctor giving me some free samples of medicine, and the Wal-Mart generic prescription plan, I might not even be alive.

The end result, is that local charities work the best, and when the federal government enters the equation, efficiency goes out the door and waste comes spilling in, however, I still want my disablity, because if I get that, I will get some sort of healthcare, which will better that what I have now.  I still don’t know how it is going to get paid for though.

About conan1264

No, I don't live in Texas, but I used to live there. I am crude, don't believe in being unnecessarily urbanized and my opinions tend to upset most "civilized" folks... and I don't give a shit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

